New Chairperson for Public Accounts Committee

The Falkland Islands Public Accounts Committee (PAC) is made up of three lay members and two members of the Legislative Assembly and is provided for in the Constitution and under the Public Accounts Committee Ordinance 2009.

The new Chairperson, appointed in December 2020, is Andrew Newman who replaces Nadia Knight who had been Chairperson since 2019. Sacha Cleminson has taken the role of Deputy Chairperson. The other Lay Member is Owen Betts who joined the PAC in November 2019.  The MLA members are MLA Barry Elsby and MLA Teslyn Barkman.

PACs are a crucial aspect of public life in giving accountability for how taxpayer’s money is spent and members of PACs are uniquely placed to represent their constituents and ensure they are getting value for money.

Share this